General information about the Kola Peninsula

What is the Kola Peninsula? What is its origin, and what’s so interesting about it?

Polar night and aurora borealis

The Kola Peninsula is above of the Arctic Circle, which explains the polar day and polar night phenomena. Also, because of its proximity to the magnetic pole of the Earth, one can observe true aurora borealis here.

What is the “polar night” in reality? In reality it never turns completely dark but days become real short. It is light from 11am to 3pm, of which true light lasts for only about two hours while the rest is extended dusk. There is never total darkness during the day because the sunlight shines onto clouds and mountains from below the horizon, and these, in turn, reflect light onto the earth surface. The length of the day reaches that of the Russian midland by the middle of February, and then it gets longer and longer. In the summer the sun does not set at all.

Glaciers and mountains

The Kola Peninsula was fully covered by the ice sheet 10-12 thousand years ago, which is very little on the geological scale. After the glacier had melted the earth crust remained depressed for some time because of the weight of the ice, and parts of the peninsula were submerged in the sea. There was a sea strait where the Murmansk to Kandalaksha railway now is. After some time the earth crust has straightened out and sea waters receded.

Nearly all landscape forms of the Kola Peninsula can be traced back to the ice sheet. These are glacier lakes, moraine ridges, and drumlin hills with indigenous rock base. Outer slopes of small mountain systems, such as Lovozero tundras, Khibiny tundras, and Monchetundra have been rounded off by moving ice, and horizontal moraine ridges are quite well visible there. Ice thickness over the Kola Peninsula was up to 1.5km, and ice covered the biggest of the mountains, the Khibiny massif (1200m).

Climate

The Kola Peninsula climate is quite soft. Extreme colds are rare here because of the softening influence on the warm Nordkapp current which keeps the port of Murmansk open in the winter. As one moves eastwards the climate gets dryer and more continental, which means less precipitation, lower temperatures in the winter, and higher in the summer. Stable snow cover forms by the middle of November, and mass melting takes place in May. Snow thickness in the forest reaches 120cm.

Population

The most developed part of the peninsula is along the Kandalaksha-to-Murmansk line. Most settlements are located there. As one moves eastwards, the population density drops sharply, with small northern indigenous peoples, Sami and Komi, who support themselves by reindeer husbandry and hunting, living there. The main centers of traditional land usage are the villages of Lovozero and Krasnoshelye. Here, as in the old days, one can meet a reindeer-pulled sleigh and see people in traditional coats and footwear. One may even hear the Sami or Komi language. Living conditions in remove settlement are harsh and modest, people there have restrained character, but are welcoming and cheerful.

Animal world

The animal world of the Kola Peninsula includes the northern reindeer, moose, polar wolf, wolverine, brown bear, marten, fox, hare, ermine, and squirrel. Of birds, several species of gull, crows, eagles, cuckoo, and many kinds of passerines that include crossbill and bullfinch are common.

Fishing truly makes the Kola Peninsula famous. In its rivers one can catch trout, bulltrout, salmon, humpback salmon, whitefish, and grayling. In the lakes you’ll find burbot, bulltrout, whitefish, grayling, pike, perch, and roach. Unfortunately, a hard social situation – or, simply put, poverty and lack of culture – lead to merciless destruction of whild nature of the Kola Peninsula.

Общие сведения о Кольском полуострове

Что такое Кольский полуостров? Откуда он такой взялся, и что в нем такого интересного?

Полярная ночь и северное сияние

Кольский полуостров находится севернее полярного круга - благодаря этому здесь наблюдаются полярный день и полярная ночь. А еще, из–за близкого положения к магнитному полюсу земли здесь можно увидеть настоящее северное сияние.

Что такое «полярная ночь» на самом деле? На самом деле совсем темно не бывает – просто очень короткий день. Светло с 11 до 15, причем по-настоящему светло только 2 часа, остальное время - затяжные сумерки. Настоящей темноты не бывает потому, что солнце из-под горизонта освещает облака и горы, которые в свою очередь освещают землю. Продолжительность дня начинает совпадать с продолжительностью дня на широте средней полосы в середине февраля, а затем становится все больше и больше. Летом солнце не заходит вовсе.

Ледники и горы

По геологическим меркам совсем недавно, 10-12 тыс. лет тому назад, территория Кольского полуострова была полностью покрыта льдами покровного ледника. После таяния ледника земная кора еще некоторое время оставалась вогнутой из-за ледниковой нагрузки, и часть полуострова была затоплена морскими водами, а там, где сейчас проходит железная дорога, соединяющая Мурманск и Кандалакшу, существовал морской пролив. Через некоторое время земная кора распрямилась, и морские воды отступили.

Почти все формы рельефа Кольского полуострова связаны с деятельностью покровного ледника. Это ледниковые озера, моренные гряды, холмы – друмлины с коренным основанием. Внешние склоны некрупных горных систем - Ловозерские тундры, Хибинские тундры, Мончетундра - округлены движущимся льдом, на них хорошо видны горизонтальные моренные валы. Максимальная толщина льда над Кольским полуостровом достигала 1.5 км, и лед перекрывал «с головой» даже самую большую горную систему – Хибины (1200м).

Климат

Климат Кольского полуострова достаточно мягкий. Здесь нечасто бывают жесткие морозы – сказывается смягчающее влияние теплого Норд-капского течения, благодаря которому Мурманск – незамерзающий порт. При движении на восток полуострова климат становится более сухим и континентальным. Проявляется это в уменьшении количества осадков, более низких температурах зимой и более высоких летом. Устойчивый снежный покров образуется к середине ноября, массовое таяние происходит в мае. Толщина снега в лесу достигает 120 см.
Подробнее о климате Хибин

Население

Наиболее освоенная часть полуострова находится вдоль линии Кандалакша–Мурманск – основная часть крупных населенных пунктов расположена здесь. К востоку плотность населения резко падает, здесь живут малочисленные народы севера – саамы и коми, которые занимаются оленеводством и охотой. Основные центры традиционного землепользования село Ловозеро и село Краснощелье. Здесь, как и прежде, можно встретить упряжку оленей с нартами, традиционную одежду и обувь. Многие говорят на саамском или коми языках. Быт в отдаленных поселках суров и скромен, люди, живущие здесь, отличаются сдержанным характером, гостеприимны и приветливы.

Животный мир

Животный мир Кольского полуострова представлен северным оленем, лосем, полярным волком, россомахой, бурым медведем, куницей, лисой, зайцем, горностаем и белкой. Из птиц распространены несколько видов чаек, вороны, орланы, кукушки, множество видов воробьиных, в том числе клесты и снегири.

Кольский полуостров по-настоящему знаменит своей рыбалкой – в реках здесь ловятся форель, кумжа, семга, горбуша, сиг, хариус. В озерах водятся налим, кумжа, сиг, хариус, щука окунь, плотва. К сожалению, неблагоприятная социальная обстановка – а проще говоря, бедность и бескультурие приводят к нещадному истреблению обитателей дикой природы Кольского .